Skip to Main Content

2016 Zubrod Memorial Lecture

17th Annual Zubrod Memorial Lecture & Cancer Research Poster Session

Robert A. Weinberg, Ph.D., winner of the U.S. National Medal of Science in 1997, was the featured speaker at the 17th annual Zubrod Memorial Lecture and Cancer Research Poster Session, hosted by Sylvester Comprehensive Cancer Center at the Lois Pope LIFE Center auditorium and the Schoninger Research Quadrangle on May 10, 2016.

Weinberg, a founding member of the Whitehead Institute for Biomedical Research, director of the Ludwig Center for Molecular Oncology at MIT, and professor for Cancer Research, lectured on “Mechanism of Carcinoma Malignant Progression.” About 200 people attended the lecture.

Nearly 90 clinical fellows/residents, postdoctoral fellows, medical students, and graduate students presented posters of cancer studies and projects and competed in the following categories: Basic Sciences, Clinical Research, Population-Based Research, and Translational Research. Faculty also were recognized for their efforts in research, instruction and mentorship.

2016 Outstanding Faculty Award Winners

Basic Scientist of the Year

Stephen Lee, Ph.D.
Pap Corps Endowed Professor in Leukemia, Leader, Adult Leukemia Program, Assistant Professor of Medicine

Clinical Researcher of the Year

Ronan Swords, M.D., Ph.D. FRCPI, FRCPath
Pap Corps Endowed Professor in Leukemia, Leader, Adult Leukemia Program, Assistant Professor of Medicine

Community-Based Researcher of the Year

Judith Hurley, M.D.
Medical Director, Hematology/Oncology Clinics at Jackson Memorial Hospital Professor of Clinical Medicine Program Director, Hematology/Oncology Fellowship

Mentor of the Year – Junior Faculty

Dipen J. Parekh, M.D.
Chairman, Department of Urology and Director of Robotic Surgery Professor, Victor A. Politano Endowed Chair in Urology

Mentor of the Year – Trainees

James E. Hoffman, M.D.
Director, Outpatient Clinics, Sylvester Comprehensive Cancer Center Assistant Professor, Division of Hematology/Oncology, Miller School of Medicine Associate Director, Hematology/Oncology Fellowship Program Director, Myeloma and Amyloidosis Program

Teacher of the Year

Kerry L. Burnstein, Ph.D.
Associate Director, Education and Training, Sylvester Comprehensive Cancer Center Professor of Molecular and Cellular Pharmacology

2016 Zubrod Poster Winners & Categories

Basic Science

Julian Naipauer, Ph.D. – Abstract #16
Research mentor Dr. Enrique Mesri

Taekyoung Kwak, Ph.D. candidate – Abstract #9
Research mentor Dr. Barry Hudson

Clinical Research

Philip C. Miller, Ph.D. – Abstract #42
Research mentor Dr. Dorraya El-Ashry

Population –Based Research

Felix M Chinea, M.D. – Abstract #71
Research mentor Dr. Alan Pollack

Translational Research

Diana Azzam, Ph.D. – Abstract #53
Research mentor Dr. Claes Wahlestdet

For more information contact the Sylvester Office of Education & Training at 305-243-2287.